Skip to content

Why I Kicked an Athlete Out Of My Box

July 20, 2014
Me, look all concerned-coachy.

Me, look all concerned-coachy.

My job as a coach is to make people stronger. It’s really that simple. It is mostly a physical task, as in, my job is to make you physically stronger. But there is also a fairly large emotional component to it, one that is too-often ignored. Because the path to physical strength is a long one. It involves you being able to assess any task, figure out whether it will help you or harm you, make adjustments on the fly and proceed with your own self-interest as your foremost responsibility.

Or, as I more often say it, “listen to your fucking body.”

Over the years I have watched Sam (which is totally not her name) make great strides. She was never timid, but she sure as hell wasn’t physically strong when she arrived. Now she is. Her body and spirit have changed immeasurably. She is a joy. Her journey has been a source of pride.

But she doesn’t listen to her body. It is something that we’ve talked about a great deal. I’ve pulled her aside, as she was wincing through a workout or two, and told her that she has to listen to her body. That we DO NOT WORK THROUGH PAIN at Rocket. EVER.

We work through fatigue. We work through fear. We work through uncertainty. We work through sore muscles. WE DO NOT WORK THROUGH PAIN.

We talk about that a lot in our gym. Ultimately, Brady and I look at each other and often shrug, remarking that adults can do whatever they want with their bodies, there’s not a lot we can do about it. If they don’t listen to their bodies, if they don’t listen to us, what are we supposed to do?

Sam came in today. Nursing at least two legitimate injuries that I know of. (As in, not sore muscles and fatigue, actual injuries, that have involved doctors.) Our awesome coach of the day modified the workout for her, and told her NOT to use her arm, at all. I was working out next to Sam, and concurred whole-heartedly with our coach.

Sam did it anyway. The coach laughed and said, “Sam’s a stubborn one.”

I told Sam to put down the weight and leave. I would clean up her stuff.

“No, really,” I said. “You can’t be here. I won’t watch you do this to yourself, not on my watch. You were told what to do to be safe, you ignored it, you can’t be here.”

It sounds mean, I know. I felt like a bitch, but my job is to make you stronger. If you are broken, you are not stronger. If I sit back and watch you break yourself, it’s my fault. “Right now, you are turning me into a tool of your pain and destruction, and that is totally not fair to do to me. I don’t deserve that. You cannot do that to me. You cannot do this in here.”

I really like Sam. A lot. I do.

We talked a bit. Sitting there, in the middle of the gym floor. (It was a small class. And really, we are a tight-knight community at Rocket, I like to think it was all very supportive, if not jarring.)

I explained, as simply as I could, why I was kicking her out, for now. And why she would be sent home if she tried to come in and work out again in the next week. I gave her a hug, I told her I adored her and cared so much, and that she had to figure out how to heal herself emotionally and physically so that she could continue this incredible journey on which she has already accomplished so much. 

And she left.

But here’s the deal, as simply as possible:

1. The goal here is getting stronger. It is not bragging rights. It is not the ability to say you did some cool – which is often, really, just stupid – thing. It is getting stronger, and that is a longitudinal process. If you are injured, you are the opposite of stronger. While injuries can be great teachers, they are not great accomplishments.

2. As a community, we all set the standard of acceptable behavior. While I will always applaud grit and passion, I will never reward dangerous ignorance. No matter how benign or well-intentioned. Just like standing up to a bully, the mere act of calling it out helps others better learn their own boundaries, and the strength they have to stand up to bullies. So to when we abuse our bodies. I do not want to normalize the idea of doing things that are bad for our bodies in this gym. Although, on the one hand, I could shrug and say, “she’s an adult, she can do whatever she wants,” in a community this tight, that changes the boundaries of acceptable behavior. If it causes other people to think they should work through pain, then it makes a more dangerous environment for everyone. If it causes other people to think “well, Sam does it, I guess I’m supposed to also,” then it’s dangerous.

3. When your body is injured, it needs to heal. Period. However long that takes. Even the slightest aggravation will add time on to your recovery and increase the risk of not healing properly. It is your job to protect yourself. Period.

4. Under all the muscles and sweat, the greatest thing that CrossFit can do is teach us to respect our bodies. It can teach us to push our boundaries, but respect them. The emotional fortitude that comes from this journey is far more important than the brute strength. Learning when to walk away because the fight won’t help you is hugely important. (It works in love, in life, at work, with friends, everywhere – and you can learn it in a gym.) Claiming the right to your own health and happiness even when you think everyone around you is doing something different, or expects something different, is hugely important. (It works in love, in life, at work, with friends, everywhere – and you can learn it in a gym.)

5. You have to learn to take personal responsibility without taking it personally. Just because you are hurt, or can’t do something right now, doesn’t mean you’re a failure. Or dumb or bad or weak or stupid or anything else. It is what it is. An injury is simply the result of an action that didn’t go as planned. It is no more an indictment on your worth as a human than the weather is when it rains on a picnic you planned. It is an unexpected event. How you handle it says more about you than the fact that it happened.

My job, first and foremost is to help you get strong. Physically, and emotionally. It takes a lot of strength to walk away. To change plans. To let go of expectations. To feel your pain and learn from it. To judge yourself based only on how you feel, not on the external metrics of what others are doing. Or the purely imaginary metric of what you think others expect.

Because the path to emotional strength is a long one. It involves you being able to assess any task, figure out whether it will help you or harm you, make adjustments on the fly and proceed with your own self-interest as your foremost responsibility.

That’s the emotional strength that we build. And it is impressive as hell when people get good at it. It is also something that last a lifetime.

Injuries are not accomplishments, but they can be great teachers. They can teach you how to listen, how to redirect, how to rebuild.  If you listen.

I can teach you that, too. But you have to listen.

I will not hurt you. I will not let you use me to hurt yourself.

I will help you. Using whatever means I have. Even if it means taking a break, so you can listen to your body.

It has taken me years as a coach and gym owner to learn that I can do that. But I can. And I will.

I think it makes me stronger. I think it will make Sam stronger. I think it makes the whole Rocket community stronger.

As she was leaving, another member said, “way to take the high-road” to her as she left. There were smiles. Well-wishes.

As a coach, having watched her get so strong in the past few years, I have still never been more proud of her than when she walked out, head held high, smiling, and said, “Okay, I’ll see you next week.”

She worked hard for that strength, and it will serve her well.

** UPDATE: Now that this has gone wildly viral, it feels important for me to post an update on Sam’s health. She took a week off, doing NOTHING to use her injured joints. She came back, admitting that everything already felt better. She has gotten FAR better at listening to her body and her coaches. At understanding her boundaries, and respecting them. At taking rest days. And she is still VERY much a beloved part of our Rocket community. She has said “thank you” many times.

I do not think that I am special. Most of the CrossFit coaches that I know and love and consider both friends and mentors would do the same thing. Collectively, we are sick and tired of the fact that THIS is not discussed as an integral part of what makes CrossFit special. That although the fire-breathers are awesome, CrossFit is really for ordinary people, finding extraordinary strength in a strong and supportive community. I am one of many. I just write real good. – August 5, 2014***

__

My husband Brady and I own Rocket CrossFit in Seattle. We love it, we think of it as extended family, and yes, we take it personally, because it is such a huge part of who we are.

62 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2014 8:34 am

    I love this! I hope she takes better care of her body in the future!

  2. August 6, 2014 9:39 am

    Reblogged this on Leadership In Motion (Inspire/Innovate/Celebrate) and commented:
    A powerful message about the responsibility of leadership

  3. August 6, 2014 9:03 am

    Couldn’t have read this post at a better time. My elbow just started acting up the past few weeks and yeseterday my coach and I made the decision for me to stop mid-WOD; my first DNF. But it was the smartest decision I have made and I’m now being incredibly mindful of the elbow ‘injury’ and being precautious. Keep it up, coach!

  4. August 6, 2014 6:11 am

    Sounds like you were talking to me. Haven’t had injuries yet, thank god but I have to learn better form before I continue to move up in weight. Good job and hope I can visit one day. http://diaryofjm.blogspot.com/

  5. Edna permalink
    August 6, 2014 5:50 am

    Crossfit gyms are popping up too quickly to train every coach well. People are paying an insane amount of money to get yelled at by someone who doesn’t really know what they’re doing. Programming is a disaster and in my experience, the biggest contributor to injuries. When you program shoulder-heavy work outs for 6 days in a row, don’t be surprised when half of your members have shoulder injuries. Your mentality on injuries is one of many things that needs to be adopted by the crossfit community.

  6. lucia permalink
    August 6, 2014 3:38 am

    Thank you so much for this. I have recently undergone back surgery (2weeks ago) and as i am frustrated i started excersise out of my own accord, still with 26 staples on my back. Have been told off today but thought I still have to do something. You have explained it SO well, and for the first time I have realised of the importance of listening to ones body… and doing the right thing. I trained for a long time doing kickboxing… love it and hope for a future doing crossfit too… I shall be patient… you words confort me, inspire me and have given me strenghth and knowledge. All the way from spain I thank you for your wise advice and knowledge that I so much needed! Its so important to have profesionals like yourself who encourage us and give us the strength to be kinder to our bodys, and minds. Congratulations. THANK YOU ♡lucia

  7. Felipe permalink
    August 5, 2014 7:37 pm

    I’m sharing your text. Before CrossFit, as an athlete at other sport, I had a coach who did the exact same thing to me. I was overtrained, but couldn’t get it. At all. As an athlete, I couldn’t get the freaking idea of my body failing on training, I was good, come on. But he took me off for more than till the next week. I praise that wise man since then, because when I got back I was incredibly stronger. Leaving your ego outside your training ground is something hard to work on. Emotionally, one of the toughest things, especially when dealing with athletes (or worse, former athletes) which never had that kind of support. But as you beautifully said, listening to your body, WILL help you. No matter your age, no matter your level of performance. As coach, this is one of the stuff I most work on now. So, I’m sharing your text. Not because it’s new stuff, not because you are special. But, yes: you write damn real good.

  8. Amber permalink
    August 5, 2014 7:33 pm

    Oh how I wish all coaches could pay such close attention and care as much about ALL their athletes. Sometimes I need a push to do more and sometimes I need to be told to take it easy. Having a coach to do this is one reason we pay so much, yes? Well done, Coach! I hope someday I will have the opportunity to visit your box in Seattle. We Alaskans tend to find ourselves there frequently. ;) Thanks so much for this super article!

  9. Steph permalink
    August 5, 2014 6:28 pm

    Last week I was Sam. Or could have been. Thankfully I have amazing coaches at my box who, like you, told me in no uncertain terms that I needed to listen to my body & let it mend. I took TEN days off!( the longest break I’ve taken in my year long journey! ) I thought I might go crazy, I took a trip to the beach to stay busy, I got mad at my body for a little bit, and then I got over it. I’ve lost 100# give or take a few. I’ve done things I never imagined I’d be able to. I’ve pushed myself mentally & physically to learn where my limits are and how to push them. My body and mind make that possible & I need to learn to be as grateful for that as I am the amazing team around me at my box. This is why crossfit is so amazing! Thanks for the great read. Steph, CF ‘the Pitt’

    • Alyssa Royse permalink*
      August 5, 2014 6:30 pm

      THAT MAKES ME SO HAPPY! YAY for awesome coaches, for CrossFit and FOR YOU!

  10. Rachel permalink
    August 5, 2014 5:54 pm

    I think this is an amazing blog post and I think everyone who participates in any sport should take a read through. I’m not a CrossFit certified coach, but I’m a NCCP Level 1 coach for the past 10 years in another competitive ice sport, so I can certainly understand where you made this call. When I was a competitive athlete, I’ve actually had my coach kick me off the ice for performing with an injury for fear I’d do something real worse. Then again she’s also kicked me off for not correcting a mistake that could lead me to injury, but that’s another story. The same reason why my coach did what she did, is the same as what you did for Sam – you clearly care about your members in your box and you want to see them healthy and successful. I would have done the exact same thing if I was in your nanos. You are certified and you clearly have a lot of experience with the sport/coaching to be able to make a good judgement call, and I hope my coach at CrossFit would do the same too (in fact I 100% know she would). It’s so easy to get caught up in the excitement and love we have for CrossFit that we lose sight of what is good for us and I am so glad you have taken the time to get to know your community to make a good judgement call – which has seem to lead to major success on Sam’s recovery. It’s a good lesson to all of us who participate in any sport to really understand the difference between the discomfort of a WOD/workout and harming yourself in a WOD/workout.

    Well done coach, thank you for keeping a close eye on all of your members and operating a safe box. You set a great example for all CrossFit coaches and if I was ever in your town where you operate, I would 100% visit because I know that you would provide me with a safe environment and a watchful eye.

  11. Paulo permalink
    August 5, 2014 5:04 pm

    In the business side of the story I understand that would be damaging to your Box have an athlete seriously injured in there (I am intentionally not mentioning the other aspects of it, such as concern about another human fellow). By the other hand you were completely wrong in exposing “Sam”. You could have talked to her later in private.

    • Alyssa Royse permalink*
      August 5, 2014 5:14 pm

      There was no business decision being made here. If anything, I made the decision to risk losing a client / athlete / friend by taking this action. I made a decision to take a strong stand against behavior that was damaging someone I care about. Because my job is to get her stronger, physically and emotionally, and when other methods failed, this was my Hail Mary attempt. And yes, I did it publicly, because her bahavior was public. When you do something that has an impact on the community around you, it is fair to expect commentary and action within that community. That said, you don’t know our gym. It was a small class of people who know and care about each other. We are a tight-knit crew at Rocket, and I was commenting on public behavior that DID have an impact on others. Because it impacts the tone and expectations in the gym. I would never discuss a personal problem, or a private situation in a public manner. But that’s not what this was. Besides protecting her, I was protecting the ethos of the gym that my husband and I, along with our dedicated Head Trainer, work so very hard to create. I felt 100% within bounds doing this. Sometimes we have to learn lessons the kinda hard way. (Though I have a hard time seeing a group of colleagues who care and support you as really being all that hard. )

      • Alyssa Royse permalink*
        August 5, 2014 5:42 pm

        “Sam” just emailed me this, in response to this comment:

        Sam responds: I didn’t feel exposed. I felt valued as an athlete and a friend. The coach knew this. It is the relationship we have, It is what makes our community stronger. I returned one week later. With the full support of my peers, I felt better than ever, posting a few personal bests upon my return.

  12. August 5, 2014 3:35 pm

    If my coach ever kicked me out I’d demand a full refund of all my dues I’ve ever paid. How ridic

    • Alyssa Royse permalink*
      August 5, 2014 4:04 pm

      Talk about “ridic,” (that’s a word, right? Short for ridiculous?) Missing 7 days would merit a refund for 2 years of dues and working out? That’s some bad math, and last time I checked, math was an important part of CrossFit. Had it been you, with that attitude, I would have gladly pro-rated your month and said “good-bye,” and helped you find a gym where you could do whatever you want with no regard for safety or the gym rules. Gold’s, maybe? But at our gym, and most CrossFit gyms that I know of, your dues pay for coaching. For our experience and our opinions and our programming and….. And sometimes that means telling you that you can’t do something. You buy our time, not our conscience.

  13. August 5, 2014 2:19 pm

    well done, Coach! i salute thee. That’s what coaching is all about.

    • Keiron permalink
      August 5, 2014 5:01 pm

      I totally agree with you Coach! The Coaches at my Box would of done the same thing!

      • Alyssa Royse permalink*
        August 5, 2014 5:05 pm

        I like to think there are a lot of coaches that would do that! And I am glad you are in a box that would!

  14. BeeK permalink
    August 4, 2014 7:42 pm

    Sounds a little like you mommied her and tried to made her decisions for her. It is great that you told her the correct answer: do not aggravate injuries. Do not work through pain which literally is the body’s mechanism for telling the brain something is not good for it. It sounds like everyone told her…even a guy with a PhD.

    But really that is all we can do. Give someone the tools to make decisions. If they still make the wrong one…it is on them, especially on issues concerning THEIR (as in not YOUR) body. It is not up to us to force someone into (or out of) anything because you know (or think you know) what’s best for them.

    Now, I would have kicked her ass out for another reason depending on details you didn’t provide: undermining core philosophies in a place of learning and growth. My business, my rules and if you are setting an example of complacency for my other patrons (friends) that is detrimental to their health and attitude, then politely leave.

    • Alyssa Royse permalink*
      August 4, 2014 8:03 pm

      It kinda sounds like you’re trying to disagree with me by saying you’d do exactly what I did for exactly the reasons I said I did it. ;)

      • August 5, 2014 2:52 pm

        Wholeheartedly agree… It’s like saying its okay to watch someone cutting there wrists but because they are an adult and its their body they know what’s best for them? No sorry. We may all be adults but we don’t always know what’s best for us and we don’t easily understand the messages our bodies and brain are sending us. Alyssa you 100% did the correct thing and since you know this woman’s struggle to success I believe its your right as gym owner and representative of CrossFit to ensure your clients safety. Bravo to you and I hope that ‘Sam’ takes her time off to think about why you did what you did and it’s okay by the way to help her out in that process. That’s what differentiates your gym from a globo gym.

        • Alyssa Royse permalink*
          August 5, 2014 4:01 pm

          “Sam” did come back after a week. And is SO MUCH BETTER. Not just in that those injuries are starting to heal, but she’s better at listening to her body, and her coaches. And she’s learned to take rest days. And to scale back. It was a good thing, for sure. And she’s very much still a member of our community, and still getting stronger, in so many more ways!

          • David permalink
            August 5, 2014 4:19 pm

            I think I was just like “Sam”. I did 2 or 3 WODs per day. never took a rest day. top 25 in my region. my coaches told me multiple times to take a break. to not come in on Sunday or Saturday. it took me not being able to do a HSPU before I realized I was not listening to my body, that I may be injured and not in a minor way. I applaud your coaching. I now listen a little closer to my coaches and my body. Crossfit needs more coaches like you.

  15. Bike dude permalink
    August 4, 2014 5:59 pm

    I wish someone would have coached me before I was injured. Great read. All cross fit coaches should read. Wish my experience was better. Turned off from cross fit.

    • Alyssa Royse permalink*
      August 4, 2014 6:09 pm

      Well, if you’re in Seattle, which I assume you are not, come on in. ;) For what it’s worth, most of the CrossFit coaches I know would have done the same thing. It is the thing that most of us talk about. But yes, I know there are a lot who don’t. And certainly the larger culture doesn’t seem to support that. I can only assume that’s why this post went so viral. People want it, and think they are alone in wanting it. But given the viral nature of this post, I think the tide is turning. Because there are A LOT of us who already do this. Here’s hoping that there is enough subtle shift in the culture’s direction that this post becomes truly banal and is met with a chorus of “duh.” ;)

  16. Ernest permalink
    August 3, 2014 9:36 am

    Amazing article! One I feel the pain of but ultimately grew into a better more efficient human being. I am guilty of not listening to my body a little over a year ago. I injured my leg doing a 9 mile trail run, it was a bizarre injury as I never did anything significant like roll it or step wrong but about 1 mile left I started getting shooting sensations shooting up my foot and over the front side of my shin. I laid off for 3 days but still had to work at a job where I am on my feet all day so not too much recovery, just ice and elevation when I could. After 3 days it felt a lot better so I went in to Muay Thai to train per usual and after it was swollen and throbbing. Long story short I would let it recover a few days and jump back on it to only feel it after again in a vicious cycle for a month or so. Finally I was at a point where I couldnt even stand on it with the weight of my body at all. I knew something was seriously wrong and I knew it was time to lay off for good and get it looked at. Yet I went to a concert to which I had told myself I was going to take it easy which I did not end up doing. I was in the pit and got bowled over and when I stood up to try to stand my leg bent inward like a ski. Completely smashed my tibia. The recovery after was not long as I recovered extremely quick doing everything I was supposed to. It definitely was a hard lesson learned but one of tranquility as I knew what I did to myself, I didnt listen to my own judgement, I went ahead and kept doing things over and over the same expecting a different result. 2 months later I was cleared for all activity and the road to regaining my athletic prowess began. I now workout at a box out of San Luis Obispo and love it, Im training Muay Thai again and have a fight lined up for next month. Im happy and healthy but the best part is I feel like I found a piece of myself that I will never lose. I use that lesson to only better my character and to let others know, its okay to be injured, its fine to be hurt. There is no shame in telling yourself you need to heal from something you know to be more than just fatigue or normal muscle soreness. I was able to practice what I preach just a few weeks ago when I injured my wrist, I took 2 weeks off and did some rehab myself. My wrist is still recovering but I am able to work it out, work with coaches on how to use it and still recover while I work. Being smart, trusting my own judgement and never being ashamed to admit it is a huge part of becoming stronger. My coaches deeply appreciate this and I deeply appreciate my box and coaches as they will work with us to modify anything. Train smart, get strong, become efficient!

  17. August 3, 2014 2:20 am

    There are so many good and meaningful informations in the text you wrote! Well written and respect from germany, I share your opinion as a coach too!!!

  18. commandoathletx permalink
    August 2, 2014 11:48 pm

    I think we have all experienced this at some point as Coaches. And although everyone can (and should) handle it in their own way, it needs to be addressed. Nice job and great article.

  19. August 2, 2014 7:33 pm

    Who is the professional? You program, not clients. That’s why ppl pay us. When clients have problems, we have to look at what we are doing wrong, not them.

    • Alyssa Royse permalink*
      August 3, 2014 6:54 am

      If you really think that it’s as simple as “programming hurts people, nothing else” then I really hope you aren’t a coach. There are SO MANY factors that go into why and how people get injured, and part of the job of a coach is to be able to look at all of them, and teach each athlete how to do it as well. If the programming were the problem then there would have been a whole lot of injured athletes. And tennis-elbow wouldn’t exist. As I said in the piece, this is an athlete who I am close to, and have been working with for more than a year, and one of our primary topics of conversation was about her pattern of not listening to her body when it hurts. Part of our job, as professionals, is to help athletes learn how to draw boundaries in their training – sometimes we push boundaries, sometimes we back up off them. Any coach who thinks that the solution to any problem is more or less reps, more or less weight, is not ready to be a coach.

  20. August 2, 2014 12:10 pm

    I have been hesitant to dip my toe into to the Local Crossfit Boxes (or dive in for that matter) for fear of injury, knowing my competitive nature. I’ve certainly had my share of injures over the year, but luckily only a few serious one.

    Anyway, your article gave me confidence that I can go to my local box and leave my ego at the door, and if I feel unstable or on the verge of injury that my decision to say “uncle” during a workout will be respected if I feel I’m risking pain or injury. As a 40 something Athlete, I want to be into it for the long haul, not the short game.

  21. benhyoung14 permalink
    August 2, 2014 9:51 am

    This is on point. I’ve recently been dealing with a slipped SI joint that has caused a multitude of problems. I had to cherry pick WOD’s all over the place and it just killed me. This is the first time in a month that I’ve been able to WOD 3x or more in a week. Hit 3 PR’s. A big part of Crossfit is dropping the ego and saying I can’t (or shouldn’t) do x, y, or z. Sometimes you come back stronger.

  22. tuck permalink
    August 2, 2014 9:43 am

    So what action was taken with the coach that did nothing but laugh and comment?

    • Alyssa Royse permalink*
      August 2, 2014 9:50 am

      We had a good chat about the fact that she is also allowed to remove people who are behaving dangerously. And, well, I think I made it pretty clear to all our coaches (and apparently an unimaginably large number of other people) that it’s okay to politely and kindly tell people they are not allowed to ignore the gym rules and the coaches – much less their bodies – in our gym. That’s not how we do things. That said, we are blessed with a very tight and supportive community. It’s pretty self-regulating. But yes, all of our coaches have been empowered to support the “safety first” rule.

  23. August 2, 2014 8:15 am

    Fantastic! I’m so glad my box owner shared this with me. Some people don’t listen. I love that you took responsibility as an owner and drew the boundaries.

  24. August 2, 2014 7:31 am

    I love this.

  25. Orlando permalink
    August 2, 2014 5:41 am

    The topic if this article is along the same lines as something that takes place in my line of work. “Sir, you are far too ill to undergo a liver transplant. If we do surgery on you, we would likely kill you. You will have a terrible outcome.” Patient responds, “I’ll sign whatever you want me to sign, but I want a liver transplant”. We think, “why should we live knowing that we were a tool for your destruction.” Except that raiders here feel that the CrossFit coaches are heros for standing heir ground. When physicians and health care professionals do it we are assholes.

  26. August 2, 2014 5:05 am

    I think this is great. I hope all coaches are observant and supportive in this way. You need tough love that is smart love, too!

  27. sneck permalink
    August 1, 2014 4:58 pm

    So does get 50% of her membership back too? One of the hardest things about cf from and admin side is the business side. Curious how she and other members felt about that part

    • Alyssa Royse permalink*
      August 1, 2014 6:33 pm

      Nope. She missed one week. We prorate for a 2 week absence…. But she was glad I did it, she took a week off, and came back feeling stronger. And now understands that not only does she have to listen to her body, she can’t workout 7 days a week. It was a very good thing, for everyone.

  28. August 1, 2014 3:36 pm

    Was really happy to come across this story! Sharing :)

  29. August 1, 2014 3:32 pm

    Reblogged this on Whole WOD World and commented:
    Sometime a trainer has to do what they have to do.

  30. July 20, 2014 4:30 pm

    “Sam” told me she appreciated your talk. Did you really tell her to go home and eat ice cream? That’s awesome!

  31. July 20, 2014 4:02 pm

    And this, among many other reasons, is why Rocket is amazing!

Trackbacks

  1. 20140808 Friday Finds - Wine to Weightlifting
  2. 8/25/14 | CrossFit Sonora
  3. WOD – 08-13-2014
  4. CrossFit Danville » Athlete or exerciser?
  5. Friday Finisher 8/8/14 | Strength and Sunshine
  6. Rest as Needed | CrossFit Naptown
  7. Why I Kicked An Athlete Out Of My Box » Bacon and Barbells
  8. Preventing Injury |
  9. How Much is Too Much? | FueledByLOLZ
  10. Know Your Body » North East CrossFit
  11. Listen to Your Body » Crossfit 707
  12. CrossFit East River | Wednesday 6AUG14
  13. CrossFit Coach…I hope you’re kicking people out of your box!
  14. Crossfit Utility » Friday
  15. Summer Scallop Salad
  16. Volume Week 7/21 to 7/26

Wanna talk about it? Comment away, I'm paying attention.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,190 other followers

