Skip to content

I Have 62.36 Klouts

March 13, 2012

You know I’m tired, or procrastinating, when I decide to check out the latest and greatest oh-so-gee-whiz tech trend.  As I get ready to launch SexxxTalkRadio, there has clearly been a bit of buzz, and more than one person has told me to check my Klout score. It’s late. I’m tired, I checked my clout score.

I have no idea what it means, but I’m laughing at some pretty obvious hystericalness.

I think that 62.36 is a pretty decent score, though for what purpose I don’t know. I assume that my dog is a zero and Madonna is 100, so 62.36 doesn’t suck. Though I don’t know what it does either. But that set aside, here’s why it’s not an accurate score, and why my Klout profile is of no use to anyone, including me.

1. I am a many splendored thing. Klout makes me choose only one profile on Facebook and Twitter. I tried it with my personal profile on Facebook and on Twitter. Then I chose ONE of my business profiles on Klout and stuck with my personal profile on Twitter. My score didn’t change.

What I really need to be able to do is use BOTH my personal and business profiles on BOTH Facebook and Twitter. Why? Because I have  followings in both areas, and there is very little overlap in my followers. However, my personality IS my business, so the messages and tone and interactions that I have in both areas bares roughly equal umph. Same thing with Twitter. In both places I have a personal account and two additional business accounts, all of which focus on the same two things: Me & Sex.

2. My score doesn’t tell you what I write about. It says, very generically, “media” and “public relations.” (And, randomly TED conference, I’m guessing because of the single TEDx talk that I gave.) Realistically speaking, what I do is manage two media brands of my own creation, both of which focus 100% on sex. So if someone looks at my Klout score, they not only aren’t getting a sense of my full reach, but they would have no idea who I reach and how. (With a gentle spanking, in case you want to know.)

Without knowing what my “followers” turn to me for and expect for me, there is no way for marketers to really know how to use me. Without that essential bit of functionality, Klout has no practical purpose. So, while I’m cozy in my spot just more-than midway between a black lab and Madonna, it is not useful to anyone.

For instance, I write about sex. I have a radio show about sex. All I do is talk about sex. But look at my Klout score about “stuff.”   No SEX!  But apps and iPhones. I hate to shoot myself in the foot here, but I don’t use apps or have an iPhone.

So I went in and manually added sex. After all, most people who know me know that I am a sex writer. So I added it in manually. Nothing changed. Then, just for fun, I added “birds,” because that is something that I know nothing about. But sure enough, it then listed that I have Klout in “birds.” I should have added “poo,” then at least people would know I have a sense of humor.

3. What about the things that really make me “ME?” Like, for instance, my blog, which is read by hundreds or thousands of people a day on one of the biggest blogging sites out there. It’s cute that Klout thinks I’m good at Public Relations, without even seeing my blog, that was recently hit 60,000 times in a day for an article about how Burning Man can save their reputation before it goes up in flames. Other days, it’s pretty quiet.

But also, that’s where you’d know that what I’m really into is food. That I blog incessantly about natural food. And motherhood.

Put all that together, and you’ll be giving a marketer some valid information. And I’d have a Klout score of something like 186! I’d kick Madonna’s ass!

So, since I’m such a Media and Public Relations Kloutster, let me offer Klout the following advice.

Marketers (and yes, I did work in PR and Marketing, good guess,) really want to know WHO we are, why we are followed and what we believe in. After all, Charles Manson would probably have had a huge Klout score, and I’m sure Rick Santorum does, but the marketers who would want to attach their brands to those people are very different – if they exist at all.

Size doesn’t matter, what you do with it does. How you do it, does. Having a huge reach is not the same as being trusted. People trust us when they know more about us. When we are trusted, that is when we sway thinking.

Let people link ALL of their accounts together if they want to. Drill down on the specifics of what we really influence. It’s one thing to have a big bat to swing, it’s another thing altogether to make contact with the ball and be able to aim it out of the park.

Let me know when you’re ready to really know me, then your score will mean something. You’ve only scratched the surface.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 1, 2012 3:07 am

    Klout might as well be a random number generator. About the only thing a Klout score can be demonstrated to measure is… what your Klout score is. It’s not any more tightly bound to empirical reality than that.

    Of course, that makes it perfect for The Age of the Advertising Bubble, since advertising doesn’t appear to have any impact on observable reality, either, but hey.

Wanna talk about it? Comment away, I'm paying attention.

