Skip to content

Paleo Study Results

November 12, 2012

I tend to geek out on things. Probably because I’m a geek. I’ve been “mostly paleo-ish” for a while, with a very hardcore stint that was eye-opening. It was eye-opening because, although I really didn’t want to, I felt incredible. ( I didn’t want to because I didn’t want to believe that I shouldn’t be eating these things that I loved.) The extrication of grains, dairy, legumes and added sugar from my diet made intuitive sense, just not emotional sense.

I found enough “data-light” to feel good about it. But a doctor friend of mine, an MD, who is much more devoted paleo than I am, just sent me a link to this stat-dense paper looking at several longitudinal studies about the paleo diet. Paleolithic Nutrition – 25 Years Later by Melvin Konner PhD, MD & S. Boyd Eaton MD. (link: paleolithic-nutrition-25-years-later)  I’m sharing it, in case there are more data heads out there.

And in case it can talk you into getting rid of grains, dairy, legumes and added sugar. At least mostly.

I am not a doctor. I am not offering medical advice or opinions. I just know this is how I feel best. And that when I eat like this most of the time, I can treat myself, and not have it really fuck me up. Enjoy. Paleolithic Nutrition – 25 Years Later

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2012 1:25 am

    Thanks Alyssa. It sounds silly, but I was looking for something like that. I had a conversation with a guy, Paulo Fernandes, who’s become famous promoting a sort of vegan alkaline diet, and it seemed reasonable. While I’m on Paleo since months, he told me that in the long run, it will cause troubles to my health. I gave a quick look at the pdf you link and I’ll read it carefully later this evening. As a bottom line, I’ve been vegan for most of my life. The Paleo Diet changed the way I feel dramatically. Hardly I will come back to a different diet! Take care, you’re cool 😉

  2. December 7, 2012 9:31 pm

    Oh, awesome. I contribute to a food blog and will be sharing a couple paleo-friendly recipes soon, so now I’ll have this data to link to as well. My mom went paleo this summer and has been very happy with it.

Wanna talk about it? Comment away, I'm paying attention.

